Letter for Schedule Change

Read: Business Writing: Letter for Schedule Change

Hypothetical business letter to a company manager outlining arguments for a switch in work week scheduling. Letter demonstrates current conventions in format, writing, and style of modern-day internal business communication.

This fake letter was for a technical writing class that demonstrates, I would guess, universal conventions in business letters as far as margins, spacing, font, etc. are concerned. I made sure to follow those conventions exactly. The real challenge was the content of the letter itself. I had to convince a manager that taking a 4-day work week was preferable to a conventional 5-day work week. I did a little research but most of this was off the top. As long as I sounded convincing then I was good. I actually wrote this letter to a manager for a job that I held at the time that I hated with a passion. The names have been changed of course, but the street name remains the same. I hope they don’t find this letter. Also, attached to this letter was the feedback I received and the professor stated that it was “best in the class.” Take that as you will.

Leave a Reply

